For fans of Girl in Pieces, All the Bright Places, and Girl, Interrupted comes a haunting and breathtaking YA contemporary debut novel that packs a powerful message: hope can be found in the darkness.

A Breath Too Late

Seventeen-year-old Ellie had no hope left. Yet the day after she dies by suicide, she finds herself in the midst of an out-of-body experience. She is a spectator, swaying between past and present, retracing the events that unfolded prior to her death.

But there are gaps in her memory, fractured pieces Ellie is desperate to re-assemble. There’s her mother, a songbird who wanted to break free from her oppressive cage. The boy made of brushstrokes and goofy smiles who brought color into a gray world. Her brooding father, with his sad puppy eyes and clenched fists. And Ellie’s determined to find out why a piece of her was left behind.

“Raw, heartbreaking, and poignant.”

–New York Times-bestselling author Kathleen Glasgow

“A haunting story of suffering, punctuated with brilliant points of hope and light. This is an important story. A necessary story for so many countless people who need to know they are not alone in their pain. Callen’s writing radiates with passion, honesty and love.”

–An Na, National Book Award finalist
and Printz award winning author

“An exquisitely played love song to life, in all of its hurts, wonders, memories, and loves. This book will remind you that you are needed, in this big and often messy world.”

–Jeff Zentner, Morris Award winning author
of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days

“Absolutely devastating and yet hauntingly beautiful, A Breath Too Late is a poignant and timely debut from an incredibly gifted author.”

–Isabella Ogbolumani, Buffalo Street Books

“Rocky Callen’s achingly poignant debut novel is narrated by Ellie, whose suicide has turned her into a literal ghost in her own life. The suffering of her mother and boyfriend mirror Ellie’s own overwhelming regret at having left the world too soon. Dreamy, funny, fierce-hearted Ellie made me want to put my arms around all the hurting teens in the world and tell them to hold on, that there is hope, there is love, there is life to come. A Breath Too Late is both a love letter and a life raft to the brokenhearted.

–New York Times–bestselling author Alison McGhee

To buy or learn more, click here.

Thoughts from
      a few readers…